A top drawer Sunday

25 Jan

So I think I might have discovered my new dream job: owning a home decor/gifts/ jewellery shop. I accept it’s probably as cut throat and tricky to get into as journalism, but going on the upbeat nature of the independent retailers picking and choosing which of the latest products to stock in their shops, at the 2011 Top Drawer trade fair (on a Sunday!), it looks like a lot of fun.


(Logo credit: Clarion Events)
 

The three day exhibition, which ran from 16th-18th of this month, is in part (and that’s a large part going on the fact we didn’t see her for quite a few weeks beforehand!) organised by my good friend Julia. As such I got a VIP pass to play shop for a day, ambling up and down the temporary aisles in Earls Court (in which I’m more used to manically sprinting along to try to find a decent news story for The London Book Fair Dailies we produce at The Bookseller) imagining which new designs would make the cut for “Decorate with Davies” or “Hannah’s Homewares”. Hmm, the name might need some work.

It also was a chance for me to work as a proper interior design journalist: swatting up on the S/S 11 trends and spotting some innovative (and just plain pretty) products to feature on my blog. At almost every stand there was something to add to my Consumer Cravings wish list as—perhaps fortunately— mere mortals (sans swanky shop) weren’t allowed to buy anything. Sigh.

Anyway, below are the four key trends, identified by the helpful ladies at Trend Bible, who are partners for the show that you (if you’re as obsessed with trinkets as me) will be buying into this season. Sorry the photography is a bit shoddy; I had to be a bit surreptitious as I wasn’t 100% sure I was allowed to take photos and didn’t want to embarrass Julia by being frogmarched out of the show. Turns out there were so many cheeky journos taking snaps, they had to relax their original no pics rule!

Vintage Vacation

Winter White

Shelter

Spectacle


Vintage Vacation
: Get all nostalgic with everything from knitting and embroidery to tea parties and baking.

Winter White: Think ethereal soft whites, greys and oyster pink, but with plenty of contrasting textures:  matt and shine; rough and smooth.

Shelter: It’s ski lodge central from moose motifs to fair-isle blankets, and lots of rustic wood

Spectacle: It’s all about the weird and wonderful, inspired by folk and fairy tales, and including: birds (I believe I might have already spotted this trend), globes (yes, got one of those!) and antique lanterns.

And, here’s my pick of the designers and products I loved at the exhibition and would sell in my imaginary shop. Some tie-in to these key looks and others don’t (possibly proving I’m not as on trend as I thought!). Happy browsing…

(Image credits: retailers/designers' websites)

  1. Bag, Drift – contact for price and stockists
  2. Cushion, Anorak – £36
  3. Leather Diary, Undercover – £21.50
  4. Makeup Bag, Lisa Stickley, £18.00
  5. Silver Lantern, Lisbeth Dahl via House to Home, £49.99
  6. Scrabble Mug, Wild and Wolf via Amazon – £6.85
  7. Desk Globe, Authentics -£58.22
  8. Throw, 95% Danish via Furnish -£89
  9. Pendant, Kate Rodgers via Ella Georgia Jewellery – £75
  10. Chair, Oficina Kreativa, 349 EUR
  11. Lampshade, Lush Designs – £48
  12. Placemat, Marimekko via Heals – £16

Share

7 Responses to “A top drawer Sunday”

  1. Barbara Davies February 7, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    Did you see the Sunday Times Style magazine this week? It had some very striking dachshund cushions by Jimmie Martin, the Swedish design duo. I wasn’t sure about the rest of their furniture – old pieces spray painted and then scrawled with slogans!

    • misshandavies February 7, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

      Yeah, I did – loved the cushions and everything on the bedside table!

      • phili February 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

        Hi hannah
        love your blog, you are certainly a style guru. How do you upload your images so neatly???

      • misshandavies February 25, 2011 at 12:00 am #

        Thanks for that—not sure it’s true though! I’m afraid I can’t take any credit for the picture neatness—it’s just part of WordPress’ functionality. I can talk you through how to do it if you have a WordPress blog…

  2. Philippa March 30, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    Hi again hannah-i gave up on wordpress in the end-i’m a blogspotter traitor. I wonder if on your search for nice home pieces you came across any nice floor cushions? The reason I ask is I think we may have similar taste (orla kiely mugs and bath towels for birthday and a love for stags/ birds-basically any graphic representation of an animal) X

    • misshandavies March 30, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

      Hi Philippa, just checked out your blog – your drawings are great. How you finding Blogger? Floor cushion-wise I’ve got a real soft spot for knitted pouffes like the one in the Shelter pic above which can be bought here: http://bit.ly/dUMdaK – bit pricey though! Also just did some more research and there’s a good selection at Not on the high street: http://bit.ly/eUYMrJ and Etsy: http://etsy.me/hCmXMf – hope you find something you like!

      • Philippa April 1, 2011 at 11:32 am #

        Wow-this might be a silly question but how did you find it? I’m not worried, just intrigued 🙂 Those sites are brill thanks and the knitted ones are gorgeous-but yeah, still on a studentish budget. My favourites on etsy http://goo.gl/BQFpw and http://goo.gl/QxM5K (shortened links)very tempted-need my house first X

Leave a Reply

